workin’ for the benefits

May 13, 2010 at 2:54 am (Uncategorized)

these days i don’t think its a bad thing. in the past, when i was much, much younger, i imagined i would find a job or career that i would love forever. i would work for a company for many years, excelling, moving up and generally being very happy. for a long time that career was in retail; but when you work in with the public in that kind of setting for too long, it makes you cynical and maybe just a little bit crazy. so crazy, in fact, that you decide, ‘wow, i should open my own business!’ [that is entirely another post] suffice it to say, that by now i am seriously just working for the benefits. and that’s okay.

the hardest part of my day is to not really show how much work i am really capable of. as an organized and highly efficient person, its sometimes difficult to watch the train-wreck of ‘organization’ that happens inside corporate america. so this makes, working each and every day a bit more challenging and i must say interesting.

i’m happy to say i’m in the running for a permanent position with corporate america, instead of my current temporary position. permanent means that vacation is accrued, sick days available and the best part, benefits. now, we currently have health care coverage, but its a health savings account with a high deductible [$5,000].

is there anything wrong with working for the benefits? to take a job that you can easily perform with perhaps 60 -70% of your brain power? how long can i do it…that will be the true test.

1 Comment

  1. Jeni said,

    I, too, am working for the benefits. Well, at this point — due to my recent separation from my husband — I’m also working for the paycheck. But I took the job, which requires far less than full effort for me, because the pay is liveable, the benefits are good, and the people are amazing. I am not working in my chosen field, nor do I care to right now. I was fired from what I thought would be my dream job, but actually was just a giant disappointment, and was too shell-shocked to dust myself off and get back on that horse. I went for a pony instead, and have to say I’m content. I won’t be able to do this forever … probably not even for another year … but it’s a good mental break while I figure out what I really want to do with my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

